Causes close to my heart

Image

“What is the use of living, if it not be to strive for noble causes and to make this muddled world a better place for those who will live in it after we are gone?”— Winston Churchill

Charity blesses both the giver and the receiver. In the words of Noah and The Whale, “If you give a little love, you can get a little love of your own”.

There are numerous organisations working for various causes, from helping to prevent children’s diseases to societies aiding abused animals but it is not possible to support all. One simply cannot give to all.

It’s very important to deciding which charity or cause is close to your heart. Giving to the causes which are important to your values and life makes you feel worthwhile and gives a sense of purpose to your life.Bless yourself and your cause by donating your money or time where your heart tells you.

Here’s a list of the organisations that are close to my heart and are doing an amazing work in making this world a better place to live in:

  • Art of Living: The Art of Living Foundation is a not-for-profit, educational and humanitarian NGO engaged in stress-management and service initiatives all over the world. It has been working in about 152 countries on diverse humanitarian projects like disaster relief, sustainable rural development, women empowerment, prisoner rehabilitation, education for the under-privileged and environmental awareness. I joined Art of Living four years back when I did Part I course and my life has been transformed. I have been associated with Art of Living since then, first as a volunteer and then as a teacher and it has been a wonderful and immensely satisfying experience.Nothing is more fulfilling than being an instrument of change in someone else’s life. One can either be a volunteer with the organisation and work for the betterment of society or can donate for its initiatives through Dhama Sthamba Yojana.
  • 29 Gifts: I came to know about this when I read the book ’29 gifts’ by Cami Walker about a year back. I was touched by her story and immediately signed up for 29 days giving challenge.29 Gifts is a global giving movement with a mission to revive the giving spirit in the world. The idea is to change our lives and change the world by giving one gift a day for 29 days. 29 gifts has made giving and kindness acts a part of my daily routine. Learn how our 29 days giving challenge works and sign up now.
  • Jyoti Sarup Kanya Asra Society: It is a small orphanage for girls set up in village,Kharar. With a mission to help the destitute, and abandoned girls irrespective of their religion, caste or creed, JSKAS is a home to 55 girls.It not only takes care of their basic necessities but also offers them personal care, good living conditions, proper education, and security, which they have been deprived of. My office team goes to the orphanage once a month and we donate in whatever capacity we can.

If you find my post helpful,it would mean so much to me for you to take some time and check out these non-profits. Please donate as a THANK YOU.

10 thoughts on “Causes close to my heart

  1. Pingback: Homepage
  2. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you might be a great
    author. I will always bookmark your blog and will come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

  3. Pingback: Read Full Article
  4. Thanks for liking a post in my blog but mostly thanks for telling me about the 29-day challenge. I’ve joined and am really looking forward to being part of that community. All the best to you.

    1. Wow…that’s great! I am sure you will be benefitted by the daily giving in terms of joy, happiness and contentment and will fall in love with this wonderful community. Do share your experiences there.

Leave a Reply

